Boones Mill, Rocky Mount election candidates filed | Local News

A number of candidates have filed for the Boones Mill and Rocky Mount town council seats to be elected in November.

Three Rocky Mount City Council seats will be up for election.

Incumbents A. Ralph Casey and Bobby Moyer are up for re-election. Meanwhile, newcomers David Clements, Benjamin Pinckard Sr., Benjamin Mullins and Phillip Bane threw their hats into the ring for the Rocky Mount Town Council run. Clements currently serves on the Franklin County Planning Commission at the Rocky Mount District Headquarters.

Meanwhile, two contenders have emerged for the Rocky Mount mayoral race. Incumbent Steven Angle is up for re-election.

Angle’s only competitor will be Holland Perdue, who is currently chairman of the Rocky Mount Board of Zoning Appeals.

Meanwhile, no new faces have come to Boones Mill. Jason Masching, Mike Smith and Peggy Steele are all up for re-election.

People also read…

Although no seats on the Franklin County Board of Supervisors will be elected this year, there will be a countywide special election for a new Franklin County District Attorney. Allen Dudley Jr. left the post after serving as a judge on the General District Court in May. Walter Cooper Brown IV will fill the vacancy until a new Commonwealth Attorney is elected.

It should also be noted for the next elections some slight changes in the polling stations following the redistricting of the 2020 census.

Franklin County has the same number of electoral districts and polling places as before and none of its polling places have been moved, but one polling place has become part of a different district and the vote from another office has changed its name.

The Waidsboro electoral district moved from Blackwater to the Blue Ridge electoral district. The location of the Waidsboro constituency polling station — at the Waidsboro Ruritan Club, 370 Ruritan Road in Rocky Mount — is unchanged.

Meanwhile, the Scruggs Constituency Polling Station – formerly called “Scruggs Volunteer Fire & Rescue” – is now officially named the Jane Crawford Training Center. The polling place may have a different name, but it’s in the same location: just southwest of the Scruggs Fire Station, itself located at 2130 Bluewater Dr. in Moneta.

As always, residents should check their voter registration information to make sure they know their precinct and polling station.

Voter registration, mail-in voting, and mail-in voting information is available online at or in person at the Voter Registration Office at Franklin County Government Center, 1255 Franklin St. Suite 106 at Rocky Mount. Residents can also call the office at 540-483-3025.